A Double LOT

When I tell people about this portion of  what I’m doing with my summer (the urban farm part,) they tend to be a bit underwhelmed.  “How much food can you get from a double lot in the city?” they say.    Well, it turns out, quite a bit.   A double LOT, I like to say.  (Pun intended.)  We have harvested large piles of chard, kale and collards.  Cucumbers and summer squashes are taking off.  I have a feeling, in not too long, we will be drowning in tomatoes.  9346653521_08ab86ce4d_b

9349438588_1bcbbd09d0_b

We’ve also been harvesting some things that you just don’t need too much of, like the super spicy spanish radishes!  Woo Hoo!  They have a nice burn!

9349438908_b7ef69f180_b

Harvesting these  radishes has made me excited to harvest our carrots.  Carrots, I discovered a few years ago, have a lot more carrot-ture (get it?! Character? Carrot-ture?! ) than I knew.

You can take a funky bunch of seemingly regular carrots like this:

5938670107_80a5e4f42a_b

and find a crew of frolicking dancers:

5938652375_501ed50a03_b

or just a couple who would rather relax by a stream:

5938659349_e9e942b117_b

I hope you (and I) find time to do both, and soon!

Best,

Farm Apprentice Kara

Kara and Martin duel with the donated plastic trellis - it worked great!

Kara and Martin duel with the donated plastic trellis – it worked great!

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

